Volvo Winner Clinches Caribbean Circuit

News brief

ABN AMRO ONE, winner of the 2005-6 Volvo Ocean Race, won the Racing A division at the 2007 BVI Spring Regatta last weekend, and in doing so, secured overall victory in the Caribbean Big Boat Series.The three-event series began with the St. Maarten Heineken Regatta in March and concludes with Antigua Race Week later this month. At the BVI Spring Regatta, sailed in the Sir Francis Drake Channel off Tortola in the British Virgin Islands, ABN AMRO ONE's Open 70 was no match for the competition, winning all eight races. ABN AMRO ONE skipper Brad Jackson was thrilled with the venue and his team's result. "We've had a fantastic regatta here in the BVIs this weekend, with unrivalled Caribbean sailing conditions. The crew aboard ABN AMRO ONE has had a lot on-- sailing short courses round the islands on a boat built for ocean racing is very physically demanding."For results, click here.