Coruba Breaks Swiftsure Race Record

News Brief 05.29.07

More than 200 boats hit the starting line Saturday off Clover Point in Victoria, B.C., for the 64th Swiftsure International Yacht Race.Preliminary results show Rob Fleming's Coruba, from Seattle, as overall winner of the Swiftsure Lightship Classic, making this Coruba's third overall victory in the past five years--winning in 2003, 2005, and again this year.These unofficial results also indicate that Braveheart, owned by Seattle's Charles Burnett III and skippered by Victoria's Brian Huse, smashed the elapsed time record in the Swiftsure Lightship Classic by more than one hour, completing the race in slightly over 15 hours. This year's Cape Flattery Race winner was Declaration of Independence, skippered by Brian Watkins from Seattle. In the Unlimited Flattery Race, Seattle's Artemis took the trophy, while Blue Lightning, from the International Yacht Club in Vancouver, won the Cape Flattery Multihull Race.Stimulus, with skipper Adrian King-Harris from Royal Victoria Yacht Club, won the Juan de Fuca Race, with the Unlimited Juan de Fuca won by Bullitt, out of West Vancouver Yacht Club.The Inshore races saw Zephyr, skippered by Royal Victoria Yacht Club's Dennis Woodward, take home the trophy, and Lickety-Split, with Jerry Porter of also of Royal Victoria Yacht Club at the helm, won the Rosedale Rock race.For more, click here.