Results and Reports

Carolyn Nute Snipe Regatta, K-Yachting Pro-Am, Vanguard 15 Nationals

October 31, 2001

Carolyn Nute Memorial Snipe Regatta
Serious sailing and serious fun was had by all over this past weekend (10/27-28) in San Diego as Randy Lake and Piet Vanos topped a group of 40-plus teams of local aces, seasoned veterans, and first-timers to win the 2001 Carolyn Nute Memorial Regatta. A mix of courses inside Mission Bay in light to medium oscillating breezes made for some exciting racing. Competition was intense, with overlapped mark roundings and finishes commonplace throughout the entire fleet. Local rock stars; Chuck Sinks, Chris Snow, George Szabo, Bill Hardesty and Craig Leweck, rounded out the top six respectively.
The fleet included Snipe sailing legends from Denmark, Brazil,The Bahamas, Colorado, and Washington State tuning-up for this week’s US Snipe Master’s Nationals hosted by Mission Bay Yacht Club. The SnipeFleet has a long standing history of competitive dinghy sailing complemented by a highly social atmosphere. This was once again proven at the annual Halloween party at Mission Bay YC Saturday night.
–Nathaniel Fennell

Full results and pictures can be viewed at:

K-Yachting Pro-Am Cup
Marseilles, France–10/24-28, 20 Mumm 30s with pro and amateur teams.
1. K-Yachting 1, Vasco Vascotto (18) 2. K-Yachting 4, Thierry Péponnet (18) 3. Région Ile-de France, Jimmy Pahun (24) 4. K-Yachting 6, Jean-Pierre Dick (32) 5. Défi Sport Adapté, Thierry Bouchard (32)


event website:

2001 Vanguard 15 Nationals
Houston Yacht Club–10/19-21, 55 boats.
The 2001 U.S. Vanguard-15 National Championship was contested at Houston Yacht Club, Texas. Fifty five boats competed in twelve races over 3 days of very close racing in medium breeze of 6 to 12 knots. The Championship was won by local sailor Kevin Funsch and Watt Duffy edging out Bruce Mahoney and Nathalie Mulhern in second place and Luther Carpenter and Elizabeth Duett in third. Kevin and Watt are the first team to win the V15 Nationals twice, winning the Championship in Chicago in 1999.
–Jonathan Goddard

Top Master:John Kolius. Top Female: Shannon Bush. Top Junior: Casey Lambert
1. Kevin Funsch, Watt Duffy, Houston YC (50) 2. Bruce Mahoney, Nathalie Mulhern, Houston YC (53) 3. Luther Carpenter, Elizabeth Duett, Southern YC (62) 4. Mattia D’Errico, Ann Graham, Houston YC (74) 5. Christian Gambel, Allan LeBlanc, Southern YC (75)



More Racing