Superyachts Return to Newport for Candy Store Cup

The spectacle of superyacht racing returns to Newport, for the second annual Candy Store Cup this weekend.
Candy Store Cup
Meteor and Ranger do battle at the 2016 Candy Store Cup. Billy Black

From July 29-31, eleven of the world’s largest and most glamorous sailing yachts will race for the inaugural Candy Store Cup Superyacht Edition in Newport, Rhode Island. Newport Shipyard and Bannister’s Wharf have consolidated the Newport Bucket and Candy Store Cup to create this fabulous superyacht event.

Initially, the Candy Store Cup was a quick race around Newport Harbor with 12 Metres and any other boats that wanted to join in, and the Bucket was more of a party for the biggest sailing yachts that had no races to enter,” said Newport Shipyard owner Charlie Dana. “It’s exciting to fast forward several decades later and have this opportunity to bring back the fun, casual atmosphere that was present during those original events and match it with the imagery of these spectacular superyachts.”

The Candy Store Cup is all about sportsmanship and camaraderie, as the pristine superyachts must race to rules specially formulated to keep them safe distances from each other. The format calls for pursuit-style (staggered start) racing on Rhode Island Sound, with one race planned for each of the three days, leaving plenty of time in the afternoons and evenings for socializing. Racing begins at noon off Castle Hill and will provide a stunning visual for those watching from vantage points along the shore of Narragansett Bay’s East Passage, south of the Pell Bridge.


Royal Huisman, Perini Navi, Vitters and Rybovich, which are major players in the superyacht industry and were all stewards of the Newport Bucket, remain sponsors of the Candy Store Cup Newport. Supporting sponsors of the event are Pantaenius Insurance, North Sails, Sentient Jet and Southern Spars / Future Fibres.

Current Entries:

Class A

  • Adix – Schooner – 213′ (65m) – Astilleros PdM / Pendennis – Holgate & Dykstra NA
  • Columbia – Schooner – 141′ (43m) – W. Starling Burgess / John W. Gilbert & Sons
  • Meteor – Schooner – 170′ (52m) – Royal Huisman – Dykstra NA
  • Ranger – J Sloop – 138′ (42m) – Danish Yacht – S&S / Dykstra NA
  • Sunleigh – Sloop – 105′ (32m) – Jongert – Tony Castro
  • Zenji – Ketch – 184′ (56m) – Perini-Navi – Ron Holland

Class B

  • Bequia – Yawl – 92′ (28m) – Brooklin Boat Yard – Stephens
  • Sapphire III – Sloop – 75′ (23m) – CNB 76 – Philippe Briand
  • Sejaa – Sloop – 82′ (25m) – JFA, Chantier Naval – Judel & Vrolijk
  • Sirona –Sloop – 72′ (22m) – Martin Marine – Tripp
  • Wild Horses – Sloop – 75′ (23m) – Brooklin Boatyard – White