Photos: Best of Rolex Sydney Hobart

From wild weather to glass at the finish, the 2015 Rolex Sydney Hobart was full of excitement from start to finish.

The 2015 edition of the Rolex Sydney Hobart brought about some of the most intense weather and exciting racing in a decade of the race’s history. Of the 108 yachts to enter the 71st Sydney Hobart race, a mere 77 finished the race, with 14 teams retiring within the first day alone. After the early retirement of two frontrunners, reigning champion Wild Oats and the 100-foot Perpetual Loyal, all three of the yachts left vying for the top spot, Ragamuffin 100, Rambler 88, and Comanche suffered damage at some point during the race.

While Rambler extended their lead as Comanche initially retired, it was not enough to fend off the determined crew as they made repairs and continued south to take line honors. The battle for 2nd place became a stark contrast to the 40-knot winds of the start, with Ragamuffin and Rambler slowly drifting over the line just 4 minutes apart.

View the full results here.


Watch Comanche take line honors:

And they’re off, Comanche leads to sea with the rest of the maxi fleet close behind. Stefano Gattini
Corinthian Division winner Quickpoint Azzurro. Rolex Sydney Hobart
Line Honors winner Comanche recovered from damage and was able to pass Rambler 88 for the win. Rolex Sydney Hobart
Chinese Whisper, winner IRC 0 Division. Studio Borlenghi
Frantic sails into dusk as the weather builds. Studio Borlenghi
Rambler 88 held the lead while several others including Comanche suffered damage. Stefano Gattini
Reigning champion Wild Oats XI suffered damage to their mainsail with the arrival of strong winds forcing them to retire early. Stefano Gattini
Volvo 70 Maserati took 4th in line honors. Stefano Gattini
Defending overall winner, Wild Rose. Studio Borlenghi
PHS winner, Helsal 3 Studio Borlenghi
Comanche sail into Hobart victorious in one of the most exciting editions of the Sydney Hobart sicne 2004. Rolex Sydney Hobart
The battle for 2nd place line honors came down to just 4 minutes between Ragamuffin 100 and Rambler 88. Kurt Arrigo