Bourke Will Head 2005-06 Volvo Ocean Race

The next VOR will start from Europe in 2005, with new boats, a new course, and a new CEO

Patrick Anderson/courtesy Vor

According to a statement from Volvo Ocean Race organizers, Glenn Bourke, CEO of illbruck Challenge, the winner of The Volvo Ocean Race 2001-2002, he has accepted the position as Chief Executive of The Volvo Ocean Race, following the retirement of Helge Alten.

Bourke, of Australia, a qualified shipwright and naval draughtsman, is no stranger to international yacht racing and campaign management. Among other highly notable achievements in grand prix sailing events such as the America’s Cup and the Champagne Mumm Admiral’s Cup, Bourke was Laser World Champion three times in 1988, 1989, and 1990. Bourke was Australian Yachtsman of the Year in 1989 and 1990 and he also represented Australia in the Finn class at the 1992 Olympic Games. More recently Bourke was Competition and Venue Manager for sailing for the Sydney Olympic Organising Committee, after which he became CEO of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, the largest and most highly respected yacht-racing club in Australia, before heading up the successful illbruck Challenge campaign.

Bourke, who flew to the UK from New Zealand where he is currently working with Team Dennis Conner, said, "This is a wonderful opportunity for me to use the experience I have gained with the Sydney Olympic Games and illbruck Challenge, to develop a new boat and course for 2005-2006 edition of the event and reinforce The Volvo Ocean Race as a major sporting event."

Bourke will relocate permanently to the UK and will be based at Race Headquarters in Whiteley, Hampshire.