ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

The International Sailing Federation announced today its list of nominees for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2001. In reaching the shortlist, nominations were openly invited, with sailing clubs, classes, individual sailors and ISAF Member National Authorities proposing sailors. ISAF’s nomination panel held a telephone conference on September 6 to determine the shortlist in male and female categories.

Female Sailors:

Sofia Bekatorou and Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE) – No. 1-ranked womens 470 team.


Ellen MacArthur (GBR) – Fastest single-handed female circumnavigator (second fastest ever), EDS Atlantic Challenge and Challenge Mondial Assistance winner.

Sari Multala (FIN) – Ranked No. 1 in the Europe Class. 2001 Europe World Champion.

Lee Lai Shan (HKG) – 1996 Gold medalist, and top-ranked Mistral boardsailor.


Male Sailors:

Grant Dalton (NZL) – Winner of The Race.

Michel Desjoyeaux (FRA) – Vendée Globe Race winner and first person to sail singlehanded around the world in under 100 days (93 days).


Torben Grael (BRA) – Four-time Olympic medal winner (three in the Star, one in the Soling). Ranked No. 2.

Heiko Kroger (GER)-Gold medal winner at the 2000 Paralympic Regatta.

Fredrik Loof (SWE) – Star European and World champion.


Yves Parlier (FRA) – Vendee Globe competitor who finished unassisted, despite breaking his mast in the Southern Ocean.

Robert Scheidt (BRA) – Five time Laser world champion, and double Olympic medalist.


Email Newsletters and Special Offers

Sign up for Sailing World emails to receive features on travel destinations, event listings and product reviews as well as special offers on behalf of Sailing World’s partners.

By signing up you agree to receive communications from Sailing World and select partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy. You may opt out of email messages/withdraw consent at any time.