470 North Americans, Anteater Regatta

Hunt and Miller are 470 Champs, Bishop’s School wins windy high-school event

Steve Hunt and Michael Miller won the 2001 470 North American Championship, held in Ft. Pierce, Fla. December 7-9. Second place went to Mark Ivey and Ward Cromwell, with Courtenay Dey and Linda Wennerstrom rounding out the podium spots.

The event, which was co-hosted by Pelican YC and the Ft. Pierce Sea Scout Troop, was sailed in near perfect breezes on Friday and Saturday, with light-airs delaying Sunday’s race until 1:30, when a sea breeze developed and one of the two scheduled races was held. Despite having the series victory in the bag, Hunt and Miller sailed and won the final race. http://sailingsource.com/470na/2001_nas.htm

A coed squad from Bishop’s School in La Jolla outsailed 23 other high school teams from throughout California Sunday to win Gold fleet honors in Newport Harbor Yacht Club’s Anteater Regatta. Only four of Bishop School’s nine sailors in the Gold and Silver groups were seniors and six were girls. Senior Andrew Campbell drove the lead "A" boat in Gold, with sophomore Hillary Shapiro as crew. Junior skipper Frank Taylor had sophomore Beka Clark as crew in the B boat.

Lack of wind meant no racing on Saturday but a strong westerly on Sunday gave the teams a chance to show their heavy air skills. Bishop School won the series with 45 points to runner-up Coronado’s 71, followed by Newport Harbor, 81, University of San Diego, 96, and Pt. Loma, 102. http://www.nhyc.org