Monarchs Could Win Second ICSA NA Title This Year

Eagles, Jumbos eager to step in

June 6, 2002

After winning the ICSA Women’s Dinghy NAs, the Old Dominion University Monarchs topped Day 1 of the much-anticipated ICSA/Gill NA Coed Dinghy Championship with 71 points. The Boston College Eagles and the Tufts University Jumbos are tied for second place, each with an overall score of 73 points.

“I’m still trying to figure out the trends here,” said ODU A skipper, senior Brad Funk. “It’s been about getting off the line and getting that first big shift. If you don’t go for the breeze, you’re left to take some big risks.”

Conditions were puffy and shifty, with 15 knot northeast tradewinds filling in by early afternoon. Air and water temperatures continued their 80 degree trend. Six races were sailed in Vanguard Flying Juniors (FJs) in the Keehi Lagoon on the south shore of Oahu. If the Monarchs win, as they are in an excellent position to, this will mark their third Coed Dinghy title in school history. Returning All-Americans, seniors Brad Funk and Lis Biondi are third in A-division with 40 points. The Monarch B division team of senior Matt Allen with crews Anna Cobb and Jack Kerr is also in third place with 31 points.


Moving up from last year’s final position of fourth at this event are the Boston College Eagles with a total score of 73 points so far. Last year’s College Sailor of the Year senior Tyler Pruitt, of San Diego, Calif., with freshman crew Joy MacDougal are in fourth place in A division with 43 points. Juniors Mark Teborek and Carrie Howe are second in B-division with 30 points. Last week Howe received Honorable Mention as a women’s All-America skipper.

Defending champions the Tufts University Jumbos are just two points away from garnering their sixth Coed Dinghy NAs title in school history. 2002 marks the second year in a row in which they were named to the event by being given an “At Large” berth.

The Tufts A division team of juniors Pete Levesque, Caroline Hall, and Clare Dooley is second in division with 34 points. Levesque and Hall are returning All-Americans. In B division, senior john Birkett teams with sophomore Katie Shuman and junior Matt Cohen They are in fifth place with 39 points.


Winning B division are Clay Bischoff and Lema Kikuchi of Harvard University. They’re back for more after helping their teammates take the ICSA NA Team Race Championship yesterday.

For complete results, visit


More Racing