Members of Sailboat Racing’s Hall of Fame

How members are chosen and links to each

May 1, 2002

The Sailing World Hall of Fame includes 50 champion sailors, designers, and innovative thinkers who have made and extraordinary impact on sailboat racing, especially but not exclusively in the United States were named in 1982 and again in 1992 by the readers of Sailing World magazine. Since then, new members have been selected by an international panel including journalists and current members of the Hall of Fame. The 2005 selection panel included John Burnham, Sailing World (U.S.), Paul Cayard, Hall of Fame member (U.S.), Bob Fisher, freelance writer, (U.K.), Peter Harken, Hall of Fame member, (U.S.), Gary Jobson, Hall of Fame member, (U.S.), Bruce Kirby, Hall of Fame member, (Canada), Tom Leweck, Scuttlebutt, (U.S.), Herb McCormick, Cruising World, (U.S.), Rob Moore, Latitude 38, (U.S.) and Ivor Wilkins, freelance writer, (New Zealand).

Selection Criteria
Over the course of their careers in the sailboat racing arena, members shall have made an outstanding impact on the sport of sailboat racing by virtue of the excellence of their achievements as performance sailors and/or contributions to competitive sailing through technical expertise, yacht design, writing, or vision. Nominations with supporting material are always welcome: [email protected]

Member Index
In reverse order of election, these are the Hall of Fame members and shortcuts to their individual stories.


Class of 2005
Carl Eichenlaub
Torben Grael
JJ Isler
Valentin Mankin

Class of 2004
Vince Brun
Bill Buchan
John Kostecki

Class of 2003
John Bertrand (Aus.)
Randy Smyth
Jochen Schuemann


Class of 2002
Charlie Barr
Peter Barrett
Paul Cayard
Russell Coutts
Mark Reynolds

Class of 1998
Sir Peter Blake
Harold Vanderbilt

Class of 1993
Manfred Curry
Nathanael Herreshoff


Class of 1992
Bruce Farr
German Frers
Olaf Harken
Peter Harken
Halsey Herreshoff
Rod Johnstone
Bill Lee
Ben Lexcen
George O’Day
Dave Perry
Rod Stephens

Class of 1982
Hobie Alter
Bob Bavier
John Bertrand (U.S.)
Tom Blackaller
Sir Francis Chichester
Dennis Conner
Paul Elvstrom
Uffa Fox
Ted Hood
Gary Jobson
Bruce Kirby
Buddy Melges
Bus Mosbacher
Lowell North
Doug Peterson
Olin Stephens
Eric Tabarly
Ted Turner
Dave Ullman
Stuart Walker


More Racing